back to portfolio

company CAILabs

CAILabs, specialist in the manipulation of light shapes

CAILabs, specialist in the manipulation of light shapes

Created in June 2013, spin-off of the Kastler Brossel Laboratory, CAILabs has developed an innovative technology for processing light beams. Since 2014, it has been marketing innovative products that increase the throughput of optical fibres. In 2015, the Japanese operator KDDI set the world record for optical fibre throughput using CAILabs components, and in 2016 the AROONA solution for LAN optical fibres won numerous innovation awards, including the Huawei Digital-In-Pulse prize. The solutions designed and developed by CAILabs have the potential to reach many other industrial sectors such as aeronautics or additive manufacturing with dedicated applications.

CAILabs in short

creation

2013

location

France

stages

seed

fundraiser

0 - 10m€

exit

-

the story

Based on quantum optics research, Jean-François, Guillaume, Nicolas and their teams have developed a solution that multiplies by 10 the data flow transported in new generation optical fibers. What seduced us was the meeting between the fundamental physics of quantum systems, industry in general and the telecommunications sector in particular. For what? Because this is a major moment: global Internet traffic is increasing by around 22% every year. We are facing an explosion in the demand for digital content and the need for bandwidth. CAILabs’ flagship solution makes it possible to meet these challenges while guaranteeing the sustainability of infrastructures. More broadly, CAILabs really corresponds to the type of “tough techs” we want to push, those capable of solving major industrial problems.

Jérôme Lecoeur

Jérôme Lecoeur

senior advisor Innovacom

CAILabs speaks

Innovacom’s risk-taking with us was total! Today the prospects are positive but when they accepted to accompany us, our fundamental research project was totally new, really far from the fashionable high-tech trends. In addition, our offer still needed to be developed. Their support has been total and has gone far beyond mere financial involvement. They have been present at every stage of development, accompanying us in anticipating market developments with a real talent for identifying and mobilising potentially interested industrial networks. They push us to step back, ask ourselves the right questions and go further. Their extensive experience of the different stages of a company’s life and its challenges, combined with their proven technical skills make a real difference.

Jean-François Morizur, CEO and Founder

Jean-François Morizur, CEO and Founder

visit CAILabs's website

www.cailabs.com

retour au portefeuille

société CAILabs

CAILabs, spécialiste de la manipulation des formes de la lumière

CAILabs, spécialiste de la manipulation des formes de la lumière

Créée en juin 2013, spin-off du Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, la société CAILabs a développé une technologie innovante de traitement des faisceaux lumineux.Depuis 2014, elle commercialise des produits innovants qui permettent d’augmenter le débit des fibres optiques. En 2015, l’opérateur japonais KDDI établit le record du monde de débit sur fibre optique à l’aide de composants CAILabs, et en 2016 la solution AROONA pour les fibres optiques LAN obtient de nombreux prix d’innovation dont le prix Digital-In-Pulse de Huawei.Les solutions conçues et développées par CAILabs ont le potentiel pour toucher bien d’autres secteurs et filières industrielles comme l’aéronautique ou la fabrication additive avec des applications dédiées.

CAILabs en bref

création

2013

localisation

France

stade d'intervention

amorçage

levées de fonds

0 - 10m€

exit

-

la story

A partir de la recherche en optique quantique, Jean-François, Guillaume, Nicolas et leurs équipes ont développé une solution qui permet de multiplier par 10 le flux de données transporté dans les fibres optiques de nouvelle génération. Ce qui nous a séduit, c’était la rencontre entre la physique fondamentale des systèmes quantiques, l’industrie en général et le secteur des télécommunications en particulier. Pour quoi ? Parce que le moment est majeur : le trafic internet mondial augmente d’environ 22% chaque année. Nous sommes confrontés à une explosion de la demande de contenus numériques et des besoins en débit. La solution phare de CAILabs permet d’y faire face tout en garantissant la durabilité des infrastructures. De manière plus large, CAILabs correspond vraiment au type de « tough techs » que nous souhaitons pousser, celles capables de résoudre des problèmes industriels majeurs.

Jérôme Lecoeur

Jérôme Lecoeur

senior advisor Innovacom

la parole à CAILabs

La prise de risque d’Innovacom avec nous a été totale ! Aujourd’hui les perspectives sont positives mais quand ils ont accepté de nous accompagner, notre projet de recherche fondamentale était totalement nouveau, vraiment éloigné des tendances high-tech à la mode. Par ailleurs, notre offre avait encore besoin d’être développée. Leur soutien a été total et est allé bien plus loin qu’une simple implication financière. Ils ont été présents à chaque étape du développement en nous accompagnant dans l’anticipation des évolutions du marché avec un vrai talent pour identifier et mobiliser les réseaux d’industriels potentiellement intéressés. Ils nous poussent à prendre du recul, à nous poser les bonnes questions et à aller plus loin. Leur grande expérience des différentes étapes de la vie d’une entreprise et de ses enjeux, associée à leurs compétences techniques éprouvées font une réelle différence.

Jean-François Morizur, CEO et Fondateur

Jean-François Morizur, CEO et Fondateur

visiter le site de CAILabs

www.cailabs.com