back to portfolio

company Micro EJ

IS2T, software platform provider for small electronic devices, sensors and embedded software markets

IS2T, software platform provider for small electronic devices, sensors and embedded software markets

MicroEJ is an embedded software platform editor allowing the development and deployment of software applications on any type of miniature electronic object with an unequalled cost, quality and sophistication. In 2011, this virtuoso of embedded software and Innovacom have joined forces to change scale and capture the wave of the IoT. The company, born in Nantes in 2005, is now present internationally where it sees its leadership assert itself. Several tens of millions of objects or devices have been sold or are being designed with MicroEJ.

Micro EJ in short

creation

2005

location

international

stages

early

fundraiser

10+ m€

the story

IS2T was set up by Fred in 2005. It started by selling expertise in embedded software. Over the years, however, the start-up acquired a rare mix of skills and some strong ideas. In due course Fred and his team prototyped their Java solution, equivalent to an operating system that can run Java on flash microcontrollers. Impressed by the demo version, we invested in 2011. Our agreed goals were to market a software platform for small electronic devices and to change the business model. This required a deep structuring of the organisation and its internal processes, including sales, support, production and distribution strategy. IS2T subsequently went on to succeed. Trading under the brand name “MicroEJ” IS2T now supplies millions of components and devices for the household appliances, sensors, industrial IoT and smart home markets. It has translated the smartphone-based model of off-the-shelf apps and a unified development environment into the world of small and ultra small electronic goods. The company is growing fast and active in France, Europe and, since 2016, the USA.

Vincent Deltrieu

Vincent Deltrieu

partner Innovacom

Micro EJ speaks

When the time came for the firm to make significant and strategically decisive investments we started looking for a solid and reliable partner. Innovacom has this track record, of course, but we were also quickly impressed by the quality of our discussions and their upstream technology watch work. They already knew who we were and had been tracking us for several years. On a day-to-day basis, they were highly pro-active on the development of IS2T. We did some joint projects that really allowed us to structure the company, anticipate future development and growth avenues. It was not just their grasp of HR issues and how IS2T could become a “proper” company that was essential for us, but also their clear-eyed understanding of the technological issues.

Fred Rivard, Founder and CEO

Fred Rivard, Founder and CEO

visit Micro EJ's website

www.microej.com

retour au portefeuille

société MicroEJ

IS2T, éditeur de la plateforme logicielle MicroEJ pour petits appareils électroniques, capteurs et objets connectés

IS2T, éditeur de la plateforme logicielle MicroEJ pour petits appareils électroniques, capteurs et objets connectés

MicroEJ est un éditeur de plateformes logicielles embarquées permettant le développement et le déploiement d’applications logicielles sur tout type d’objet électronique miniature avec un coût, une qualité et une sophistication inégalés.
En 2011, ce virtuose du logiciel embarqué et Innovacom s’associent afin de changer d’échelle et saisir la vague de l’IoT. La société, née à Nantes en 2005, est désormais présente à l’international où elle voit son leadership s’affirmer. Plusieurs dizaines de millions d’objets ou appareils ont été vendus ou sont en cours de conception avec MicroEJ.

MicroEJ en bref

création

2005

localisation

International

stade d'intervention

early

levées de fonds

10+ m€

la story

IS2T a été créée en 2005 par Fred. Elle s’est d’abord consacrée à la vente d’expertise dans le logiciel embarqué. Durant ces années, la startup a acquis des compétences rares et trouvé de bonnes idées ! Fred et son équipe prototypent l’équivalent d’un OS capable d’interpréter du Java sur un micro-contrôleur. Impressionnés par la démonstration, nous entrons au capital de la société en 2011. Nos objectifs communs : la commercialisation d’une plateforme logicielle destinée au petit appareil électronique et le changement de business model. Cette ambition nécessite une évolution profonde de l’organisation et des processus internes à l’entreprise : vente, support, production, stratégie de distribution. IS2T a depuis réussi son pari. Commercialisé sous le nom « MicroEJ » IS2T équipe aujourd’hui en millions de pièces les marchés de l’électroménager, des capteurs, de l’IOT ou du smart home. Elle apporte au monde du petit objet électronique le concept d’application store et d’environnement de développement unifié que l’on connaît pour les smartphones. Présente en France, Europe et USA depuis 2016, la société est en forte croissance.

Vincent Deltrieu

Vincent Deltrieu

partner Innovacom

la parole à MicroEJ

Au moment d’engager des investissements significatifs pour l’entreprise et stratégiquement décisifs, nous avons cherché un partenaire solide et fiable. Innovacom disposait de ce track record mais nous avons également vite été impressionnés par la qualité des échanges et par le travail de veille technologique effectué en amont: ils nous avaient déjà identifiés et nous suivaient depuis plusieurs années. Au quotidien, ils se révèlent extrêmement actifs quant au développement d’IS2T. Nous avons mis en place des actions communes qui ont vraiment permis de structurer l’entreprise, d’anticiper son développement et ses logiques de croissance. Si leur compréhension des aspects RH et des leviers pour transformer IS2T en « véritable » entreprise ont été essentiels pour nous, leur parfaite compréhension des aspects technologiques a constitué un élément déterminant également.

Fred Rivard, Fondateur et Président Directeur Général

Fred Rivard, Fondateur et Président Directeur Général

visiter le site de MicroEJ

www.microej.com