back to portfolio

company 21net

21Net designs and markets broadband communication systems for the Transportation industry

21Net designs and markets broadband communication systems for the Transportation industry

21Net designs and markets high-speed communication systems for the railway industry. The Company is in particular the supplier of the “TGV Connect” Internet access technology deployed on SNCF’s TGV fleet in France, making the company the supplier with the largest fleet of trains equipped and supervised in the world (over 300 trains). The growth and development prospects for 21Net are very strong in a “Smart City” context where passengers / citizens demand connectivity in all their journeys identical to the one they have at home in their lounge. In addition to high speed, demand now also concerns Intercités conventional trains, RER, tramways or buses and the metro in all the world markets where the company already has references and locations (Europe, USA and India). The company was acquired by ALSTOM in 2018.

21net in short

creation

2005

location

paris

stages

growth

fundraiser

10+ m€

exit

trade sale

the story

When we met 21Net in 2010, the company had reliable satellite access technology that could cover high-speed but expensive train lines. Faced with the needs of transport operators, which we anticipated would grow, it was key to rapidly expand their product portfolio with cellular technologies in order to have the best of these two technologies and lower the cost of ownership. This ambition required sufficient funds to devote to developing a complex technological platform and supporting the first customers in migrating their solutions. The challenge for us was to get the company to transform itself in depth and to be a decisive support in a complex market, facing customers – private companies and state enterprises – whose motivations, analysis and decision-making phases were very different.

Vincent Deltrieu

Vincent Deltrieu

partner Innovacom

21net speaks

INNOVACOM is a team capable of providing reliable long-term support. Since they became shareholders in 2010, the company has gone through several stages and they have always been able to support us in good times and bad. They know how to take their responsibilities when circumstances require it and propose solutions in line with the company’s situation. Their understanding of technical and commercial issues enables us to act intelligently in a logic of long-term value creation. They are keen to create links and leverage synergies with other partner companies, always with a view to perfecting our technologies and improving our opportunities.

Philippe Catherine, CEO

Philippe Catherine, CEO

visit 21net's website

www.21net.com

retour au portefeuille

société 21net

21Net conçoit et commercialise des systèmes de communication haut-débit pour l’industrie ferroviaire

21Net conçoit et commercialise des systèmes de communication haut-débit pour l’industrie ferroviaire

21Net conçoit et commercialise des systèmes de communication haut-débit pour l’industrie ferroviaire. L’entreprise est notamment le fournisseur de la technologie d’accès Internet « TGV Connect » déployé sur la flotte TGV de la SNCF en France faisant de la société le fournisseur disposant de la plus importante flotte de trains équipée et supervisée au monde (plus de 300 trains). Les perspectives de croissance et de développement pour 21Net sont très fortes dans un contexte de « Smart City » où les passagers / citoyens réclament une connectivité dans l’ensemble de leurs déplacements identique à celle dont ils disposent chez eux dans leur salon. Au-delà de la grande vitesse, la demande concerne désormais également les trains classiques Intercités, les RER, les tramways ou les bus et le métro et ce, sur tous les marchés mondiaux où la société dispose déjà de références et d’implantations (Europe, USA et Inde). La société a fait l’objet d’une acquisition par l’industriel ALSTOM en 2018.

21net en bref

création

2005

localisation

paris

stade d'intervention

expansion

levées de fonds

10+ m€

exit

trade sale

la story

Lorsque nous avons rencontré 21Net en 2010, la société disposait d’une technologie d’accès via satellite fiable à même de couvrir les lignes de trains à haute vitesse mais onéreuse. Face aux besoins des opérateurs de transport, que nous anticipions croissants, il était clé d’élargir rapidement leur portefeuille produit avec les technologies cellulaires afin de disposer du meilleur de ces deux technologies et d’en abaisser le coût de possession. Une ambition qui nécessitait de disposer de fonds suffisants à consacrer au développement d’une plateforme technologique complexe et à l’accompagnement des premiers clients dans la migration de leurs solutions. Le défi pour nous a été d’amener l’entreprise à se transformer en profondeur et d’être un appui décisif dans un marché complexe, face à des clients – compagnies privées et entreprises d’état – dont les motivations, phases d’analyse et de prise de décisions étaient très différentes.

Vincent Deltrieu

Vincent Deltrieu

Partner Innovacom

la parole à 21net

INNOVACOM est une équipe à même de s’inscrire dans un accompagnement fiable sur la durée. Depuis leur entrée au capital en 2010, l’entreprise a connu plusieurs étapes et ils ont toujours su nous soutenir dans les bons moments comme dans les moins bons. Ils savent prendre leurs responsabilités quand les circonstances l’exigent et proposer des solutions en adéquation avec la situation de l’entreprise. Leur compréhension des enjeux techniques et commerciaux nous permet d’agir intelligemment dans une logique de création de valeur à long terme. Ils sont soucieux de créer des liens et de faire jouer les synergies avec d’autres sociétés partenaires toujours dans une logique de perfectionnement de nos technologies et d’amélioration de nos opportunités.

Philippe Catherine, CEO

Philippe Catherine, CEO

visiter le site de 21net

www.21net.com